Want to play Apex Legends? Here are the best tips on how to get started

Credit: Electronic Arts

How do I unlock new characters in Apex Legends?

There are two ways to unlock new characters in Apex Legends. The first is through Legend tokens. You’ll earn Legend tokens as you complete matches and level up your player profile.

The only other way to unlock new characters in Apex Legends is through Apex Coins, which are bought using real-world money.

Credit: Electronic Arts

Out of the gate, all new players have access to six Legends: Bangalore, Gibraltar, Wraith, Lifeline, Pathfinder and Bloodhound. Unlocking additional legends beyond these six requires either 12,000 Legend Tokens or approximately 750 Apex Coins.

To coincide with the launch of the game's first battle pass (called Wild Frontier), Respawn have also added a seventh Legend to the game: Octane.

Next Page: What does it mean when you are selected as The Jumpmaster?

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.

Tags Respawn EntertainmentApexApex LegendsBattle Royale

Keep up with the latest tech news, reviews and previews by subscribing to the Good Gear Guide newsletter.
Fergus Halliday
Show Comments

Don’t have an account? Sign up here

Don't have an account? Sign up now

Forgot password?